There are currently seven schools playing football in the NCAA that do not belong to a conference. In the Fall of 2001 Louisiana Tech University will join the Western Athletic Conference. At the same time, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe and Middle Tennessee State will join the newly formed Sun Belt Football Conference. Notre Dame, Navy, and Central Florida will remain as Independents in Football.
All about the Mountain West Conference and its member schools. The conference was created in July, 1999 with eight schools from the Western Athletic Conference.


Sites specifically devoted to football in the Southeastern Conference.
Founded: 1976 Commissioner: Wright Waters Conference office: New Orleans, La. Football-playing members (effective 2001): University of Idaho, University of North Texas, New Mexico State University, Arkansas State University, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, University of Louisiana-Monroe, Middle Tennessee.