Ashoka was the greatest ruler of the Maurya dynasty, and ruled the Maurya empire from about 269 BC till his death in 232 BC.
A militant Sikh who was executed in 1931 by the British rulers for various acts, including one killing, carried out in revenge for the massacre at Jalianwala Bagh.
Mahatma Gandhi (proper name Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi, 1869-1948) led the people of India in a successful and largely non-violent struggle against British rule.
Jinnah, 1876-1948, was one of the leaders of the freedom struggle that resulted in the independence of Pakistan.
Lakshibai (born Manikarnika) was the ruler of the state of Jhansi at the start of the great rebellion of 1857. She escaped from the city when it was captured by British troops, and later in 1858 died in battle defending Gwalior.
Jawaharlal Nehru, also known as Pandit (the learned) Nehru, lived from 1889 to 1962. He was one of the leaders of the Indian independence struggle and the first leader of independent India.
Sivaji Bhonsle (also written as Shivaji) lived from 1627 to 1680, and led the Maratha people against the rule of the Mughals, establishing his capital at Pune. He is often referred to as Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj, the titles translating approximately as the overarching ruler and great king.
Tipu Sultan (1750-1799) was ruler of the state of Mysore which he inherited from his father Haider Ali. He spent much of his life maneuvering and fighting the East India Company, and died in battle at Srirangapatna.