Swedish is an East-Scandinavian member of the Germanic subgroup of the Indo-European language family spoken by approximately 9 million people principally located in Sweden but with populations in Finland, Estonia, Canada, Norway and the United States. It is one of the official languages of Finland and the EU, and has a de facto status of official language in Sweden where it is the main language. Swedish is also known as Svenska (in Swedish) and Ruotsi (in Finnish).