This category contains sites pertinent to the 4 regions of the State of South Dakota. They are the Black Hills and Badlands Region, the Glacial Lakes and Prairies Region, the Great Lakes Region, and the Southeast Region.
Sites submitted to this category should be of regional significance.
The Black Hills and Badlands Region includes Bennett, Butte, Custer, Fall River, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Jones, Lawrence, Meade, Mellette, Pennington, Perkins, Shannon, Todd, and Ziebach counties. This western region of the state is known for its dramatically different landscapes, and contains two of the country's most famous monuments - Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Crazy Horse Memorial. It also features Jewel Cave Monument, the fourth longest cave in the world. It is also rich in the history of the Old West, as part of the last great gold rush in America.
Sites submitted to this category should have a regional significance. Sites only about the Badlands, or only about the Black Hills, should be submitted to those respective categories. Lodgings and tourist attractions should be submitted to the category for the locality (town or city) in which they are located.
The Glacial Lakes and Prairies Region includes Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Kingsbury, Marshall, Moody, Roberts, and Spink counties. This northeast region of the state contains hundreds of lakes, and miles of prairies. It has a rich history in pioneer lore, and archaeological recoveries (including those from Native American burials) abound. It is an ideal area for outdoor recreational activities, including hunting, fishing and camping.
Sites submitted to this category should have a regional significance.
The Great Lakes Region includes Aurora, Brule, Buffalo, Campbell, Charles Mix, Corson, Davison, Dewey, Douglas, Edmunds, Gregory, Hughes, Hyde, Jerauld, Lyman, McPherson, Potter, Sanborn, Stanley, Sully, Tripp, and Walworth counties. This central area of the state is home to four lakes, making it the state's biggest water playground. This area is also dotted with bluffs, storied towns, forts, monuments and ruins.
Sites submitted to this category should have regional significance.
The Southeast Region includes Bon Homme, Clay, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Turner, Union, and Yankton counties. Lewis and Clark explored the southeast region back in 1804, when it was still an untamed and wild part of the country. Today it is an area of individual and family outdoor recreation, also including famous attractions like the Corn Palace in Mitchell, the Shrine to Music Museum in Vermillion, and a bona fide pioneer village in Madison.
Sites submitted to this category should have regional significance.