Prachin Buri is divided into two major parts, the low river valley of the Prachin Buri River, and the higher lands with plateaus and mountains of the Sankambeng Range, the southern prolongation of the Dong Phaya Yen mountains. In those areas are also two national parks, Khao Yai and the Tab Larn National Park.