The mammals category houses sites about all mammals that exist, including marine mammals. Marine mammals should not be listed in the Marine Life category. There are a total of 4,060 mammals all together, living species. There are some defining characteristics that make a mammal a mammal. 1) Mammary glands are what makes a mammal a mammal. It is responsible for the process of lactation, or the production of milk. This helps mothers feed their young. 2) The presence of hair or fur for the purpose of insulation is also a defining characteristic. It helps maintain temperature.
By all means we love the submission of sites: we thrive on them. When we don''t receive a steady flow of submissions our editors go out to other search engines to find sites about our assigned topics. By submitting sites to us, you help us out tremendously.

Please be advised that although we greatly appreciate your time in submitting a site, it in no way guarantees that we will list it.

Because this is Kids and Teens we won''t have confusing scientific names such as Animalia/Chordata/Mammalia and so forth. The kids and teens directory houses sites that are appropriate for kids and teens, not necessarily by them.

A nocturnal animal that lives in burrows and eats ants and termites.
Submit sites about the ''earth pig'', a nocturnal ant eating mammal found in Africa.
For a long time, scientists believed that giant panda bears from China were more like raccoons than bears. Today, we know that giant pandas are really bears. Therefore, please submit sites about giant pandas here! Koala "bears" on the other hand are a different story. We accept sites about koalas but please don't submit them here. They are not bears, and belong to a group of animals called marsupials. If you have a site about a koala, please submit it to the Koalas category.
Focuses on bears of interest to kids and teens. Your site must comply with kids and teens guidelines; to view these guidelines, see
Large, dark brown rodents which have a large black scaly flat tail and large teeth. They swim, cut down trees, by gnawing them, and build dams to live in.
Scientific name of family: Felidae
A coati is a member of the raccoon family. There are three species of coati: Ring-tailed coati, White-nosed Coati, and Cozumel Island Coati. They mainly eat insects, but also eat fruit.
Cougars have more names than probably any other big cat. Mountain lion, puma, painter, and catamount are just some of them.

Found in a range from northern Canada to the southern tip of South America, the color of their coat is different in each area. They live in mountains, forests, steppes, and grasslands.

Years of hunting and destruction of cougar habitats, has left so few in some areas that they are critically endangered. Many countries now protect them.

All sites submitted to this category must be designed for use by kids and teens, and provide information on or about cougars.

Websites designed for parents or teachers, or to sell products or services, will not be accepted.

Scientific order/family: canivora/canine
Elephants are smart creatures and they have the largest brain of any land animal, and three times as many neurons as humans.
This category lists pages and sites which tell about foxes. It includes information on different species, their habitats, diets, and behaviors.
Scientific name: Artiodactyla Giraffidae
There are many varieties of hamsters. They are considered rodents like rats, mice, gerbils, chinchillas, guinea pigs and chipmunks. And, like other rodents hamsters have sharp, chisel like front teeth.
Submit sites containing information about hamsters. If you have a site about pet hamsters please submit it to the character about Pets.
Species name: Hippopotamus amphibius
Horses first existed (probably) in the steppes of central Asia between 3000 and 4000 B.C. These first animals were kept for meat and milk. As early man became more mobile undoubtedly horses began to be used as pack animals. Today, many people enjoy riding on horses for enjoyment; and some still use it as their primary means of transportation, especially on farms.
Submit sites here about any subspecies of horses, or horses in general. Please note that individual horses or pet horses will not be accepted into this category.
Scientific name: Macropus Giganteus
Scientific name: Phascolarctos cinereus adustus
If you have seen the Bears description, you will know that this is the correct category to submit your koala bear sites to! Koalas are not bears as we have mentioned according to the definition of a marsupial. Koala bears are marsupials because they have a pouch where they keep their young. Thank you for your compliance in helping us serve you better.
Marmots are members of the genus Marmota. One species of the marmot is the groundhog. They live in burrows, and hibernate through the winter.
This category is for general information about mice, and particularly mice in the wild.
Please submit websites about pet mice and how to care for pet mice to Kids_and_Teens/Your_Family/Pets/Mice_and_Rats.
Didelphis Virginiana. Opossums are the only marsupials native to North America. Opossums are scavengers, and sometimes cause trouble by raiding trash or by entering roads in search of food.
Please only submit sites that are suitable for Kids and Teens and are devoted to Opossums. The Kids and Teens Directory has strict site selection criteria - just because a site is submitted does not mean it will automatically be listed. For more information, please review our editorial guidelines.
What is a primate?

A primate is a classification of biology used to group several similar animal species together. Probably the most recognizable to kids are the monkey and the human. Yes, you are a primate.

All primates have nails, hooves or claws. A lot of things that have claws are not primates though, like birds. Primates also have a clavicle, also known as a collar bone. Another feature of the primate is that their innermost digit (finger) is opposable. What this means is that the thumb can be used to pick things up. Imagine how hard it would be to pick things up without your thumb.

Please read the category description.

If your site discusses many primates, or if there is no subcategory for your primate, then submit here.

If there is a subcategory for your primate, then submit there.

All sites listed must follow the Kids and Teens guidelines

Sheep are woolly and soft and gentle. They are fluffy and their wool is frequently used to make coats. They produce their wool as a result of the cold that they must deal with during the winter.
Wallabies look a lot like small kangaroos. But they are different. They are found in Australia and Papa New Guinea. They have a pouch to carry their babies, and jump on their back legs. They eat seeds and grasses.
Wombats are marsupials, and they live in Australia. Wombats have short legs, and are three feet in length with a very short tail.