Web pages of or about the authors who program and write interactive fiction.
Please only submit sites that are either the sites of an interactive fiction author or are directly about an interactive fiction author, and please only submit those sites directly related to interactive fiction. General interactive fiction sites should be submitted to Games: Video Games: Genres: Interactive Fiction. Sites about general programming using authoring systems should be put in Games: Video Games: Genres: Interactive Fiction: Design and Development: Authoring Systems.
Scott Adams is the author of Adventureland, one of the first text adventures playable on the small home computer "micros" of the late 1970s (with no disk drive and only 16 or 24 KB memory). He wrote it in 1978 and founded his company Adventure International (AI) to publish it. AI published 17 other adventures (many of them best sellers) between 1979 and 1985.
Author of PC text adventures that were available by mail in the U.S..
Bob Bates, designer of interactive fiction, including:
  • John Saul's Blackstone Chronicles: An Adventure in Terror
  • Eric the Unready
  • the Gateway series
  • Timequest
  • Arthur: The Quest for Excalibur
  • Sherlock: The Riddle of the Crown Jewels
Michael Berlyn, author of many games including Oo-topos, Suspended, Infidel, Cutthroats, Tass Times in Tonetown, and Dr. Dumont's Wild P.A.R.T.I..
Mark Blank was one of the original Implementors of the mainframe Zork at MIT. He was one of the founders of Infocom, helped to program the Z-machine, and wrote several other games, including Deadline and Enchanter.
Adam Cadre, author of award-winning freeware interactive fiction (Photopia, Varicella, I-0).
Ian Finley, author of Kaged (2000), Exhibition (1999), and the award-winning Babel (1997).
Stu Galley, one of the core founders of Infocom and author of The Witness (1983), Seastalker (1984), and Moonmist (1986) (with Jim Lawrence).
Stephen Granade, author of Undertow, Losing Your Grip, and Common Ground, is also editor of IF resource Brass Lantern and has run the IF Competition for several years.
Brian Howarth used a basic game design tool for writing Scott Adams databases and wrote his own TRS-80 driver so he could then ship and sell them. This driver became the Adventure International Spectrum driver for all games including Scott's and Brian did a lot of the code used for the graphics system in the later Spectrum games.
Jon Ingold, author of Break-In, The Mulldoon Legacy, My Angel, FailSafe, and 2001 IF Competition winner All Roads.
Dave Lebling was a co-founder of Infocom and wrote many of the text adventures developed and published by Infocom. Games written or co-written by Dave Lebling include:
  • Zork I: The Great Underground Empire (1982)
  • Starcross (1982)
  • Zork II: The Wizard of Frobozz (1983)
  • Zork III: The Dungeon Master (1984)
  • Enchanter (1984)
  • Suspect (1984)
  • Spellbreaker (1985)
  • The Lurking Horror (1987)
  • James Clavell's Shogun (1988)
Author of text adventures that were available by mail in the U.K..
Author of School Days and tips on programming in Inform.
Steve Meretzky, author of numerous text adventures (Planetfall, A Mind Forever Voyaging, Leather Goddesses of Phobos), as well as many graphic adventures and now online games.
Author of The Hobbit, Sherlock, Lord of the Rings and The Shadows of Mordor.
Author of interactive fiction (Ad Verbum, Winchester's Nightmare) and IF theory.
Brian Moriarty, author of text adventures Wishbringer, Beyond Zork, and Trinity for Infocom and graphical adventures Loom and The Dig for LucasArts.
Graham Nelson, creator of the Inform interactive fiction compiler and author of several text adventures (Curses, Jigsaw, The Meteor, The Stone, and a Tall Glass of Sherbet).
Paul O'Brian, author of LASH and Wearing the Claw.
Author of Spectrum text adventures from 1984.
Magnus Olsson, author of The Dungeons of Dunjin, Uncle Zebulon's Will, and Aayela.
Author of Cosmoserve and Shades of Gray, Judith Pintar began writing IF independently in the early 1990s.
Andrew "Zarf" Plotkin, designer of games of various sorts.
Author of several late-1980s works of interactive fiction, some written as DOS batch files.
Emily Short, author of City of Secrets, Galatea, Metamorphoses, Pytho's Mask, and Savoir-Faire.
Lucian Paul Smith, author of The Edifice, winner of the Third Annual IF Contest and of two 1997 Xyzzy Awards.
Author of TADS shareware game Save Princeton.
Author of Four in One.
Don Woods gave us Adventure (1976) as we know it, modifying the original cave simulation program by Will Crowther. He wrote other expanded versions of Adventure as well.