In Partnership with AOL Search
For all Arabic encodings, including Unicode.
Arabic script encodings, including Arabic, Persian/Farsi and Kurdish.
Includes Unicode in addition to other Chinese code pages.
Simplified and Traditional Chinese character encoding systems.
CJKV stands for Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Vietnamese and is an acronym used to describe these far-east languages and writing systems that contain more than 256 individual characters and can therefore only be represented by more than one byte per character. CJKV is a particular term used in Globalization - this category deals with the process in general. Individual language categories exist for specific languages.
For Cyrillic encoding methods only, including Unicode. Many languages that use Cyrillic also use Latin, Arabic and other encoding systems.
Used by many languages, including Russian, Ukrainian, Bulgarian, Macedonian, Serbian, Belorussian, Kurdish, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Mongolian and Uzbek.
For all Greek and Coptic encodings, including Unicode.
Modern Greek and Coptic character sets. Although Greek is a well-known modern language, Coptic is a ceremonial language still in use in the Middle East.
For all Korean and Hangul encoding systems including Unicode.
Hangul is the Korean alphabet, related in some ways to Chinese, but otherwise unique to Korea and similar in structure to many Indo-European alphabet systems.
For non-Latin versions of Hebew, Yiddish and Ladino encoding systems, including Unicode.
Hebrew, Yiddish and Ladino alphabets.
For all Indic character sets, including Unicode, ISCII and related encoding systems.
Bengali, Devanagari, Gujarati, Gurmukhi, Hindi, Kannada, Khmer, Lao, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Sanskrit, Sinhala, Tamil, Telugu, Tibetan and Thai characters sets use variations of Brahmi-derived Indic characters.
For the various encoding systems used in Japan, including Hiragana, Katakana, Kanji and Romaji.
Japanese uses various character encoding systems, from the traditional Kanji to the Latin-derived Romaji.
For Latin character sets only. Many language use a local alphabetic system too.
Used by Afrikaans, Albanian, Aymara, Azeri, Bailnese, Basque, Breton, Catalan, Cornish, Danish, Dutch/Nederlands, English, Esperanto, Finnish, French, Gaelic, German, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Malaysian, Manx, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Vietnamese, Welsh and many other languages.
For all Native American encoding systems, typically Unicode character sets.
There are many languages native to North and South America, such as Cree, Navajo, Mayan, Aztec, Incan and Inuit (Inuktitut).
Any Unicode submissions specific to character sets should be submitted into the relevant category. This category is for general Unicode issues.
Unicode is the standard character encoding system that allows the correct display and entry of virtually all characters of every language in the world.
Copyright © 1998-2016 AOL Inc. Terms of Use
Last update: Thursday, March 3, 2016 6:24:04 AM EST - edit