Sports College and University Governing Bodies NCAA Division II Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) is an athletic conference consisting of twelve historically African-American institutions of higher education: Bowie State University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, Johnson C. Smith University, Livingstone, North Carolina Central University, St. Augustine's College, St. Paul's College, Shaw University, Virginia State University, Virginia Union University, Winston-Salem State University, all working together to set an overall standard of excellence. Established in 1912, the CIAA is the nation's oldest black athletic conference, rich in history and heritage. The CIAA is entering its eighty-fifth year of athletic competition in which they will continue to reap success and recognition on the field and on the court. The presence of the CIAA as a premiere member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II, continues to expand throughout the country. Expansion of television broadcasts has resulted in nationwide coverage of football and basketball contests, as well as the annual CIAA Basketball Tournament. Increasing competitiveness in other sports is also leading to recognition of CIAA member schools as athletic powerhouses. The reputation, in conjunction with the academic success of our athletes, is a proud legacy for the CIAA. The conference is divided into Eastern and Western Divisions in all sports except football and baseball. The CIAA annually sponsors 13 men's and women's championships. The seven men's championships include cross country, indoor track, basketball, golf, tennis, baseball, and track & field. The six women's champions are cross country, volleyball, indoor track, basketball, softball, and track & field. The football champion is determined by standings as determined by regular season record.

Subcategories 18

Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Official site of the CIAA, an NCAA Division II conference of historically African-American institutions.
[Mozilla Graduate]
Last update:
February 18, 2016 at 16:51:28 UTC
All Languages