Maori Iwi (tribe) and Hapu (sub-tribe) in New Zealand
Has about 20 marae scattered across the region with numerous hapu groups and an increasing number of Te Kohanga Reo (language nests for our mokopuna) and Kura Kaupapa Maori (schools totally immersed in Te Reo).
Ngai Tahu
South Island Maori tribal home page, features culture, legends, business activities, editorials and Crown Settlement Offer updates.
Ngaiterangi Iwi Incorporated Society
The official site of Ngaiterangi Iwi detailing history, mythology and the tribe today.
Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated
A mandated iwi organisation with the authority to represent the people of Ngāti Kahungunu. The third largest Iwi population and situated in the Hawkes Bay, Wairarapa area.
Ngāti Rārua Ᾱtiawa Iwi Trust
Represents a unique group of descendants from two iwi. They whakapapa back to one or more of 94 Ngāti Rārua tupuna and 15 Te Ātiawa tupuna.
Ngāti Whātua o Orakei
A hapu (sub-tribe), of the Ngati Whatua iwi (tribe) based in New Zealand’s largest city, Tamaki Makaurau, commonly known as Auckland. Site features information on Treaty Claims, business and member services.
Raukawa Trust Board
Dealing with issues for the Ngāti Raukawa, Waikato area.
Tanenuiarangi Manawatu Incorporated
The mandated iwi authority for Rangitaane O Manawatu. TMI services are mainly provided through its subsidiaries Best Care (Whakapai Hauora) Charitable Trust, Kia Ora FM 89.8 and Te Hotu Manawa O Rangitaane O Manawatu Marae Charitable Trust.
Te Aitanga a Māhaki
The Iwi of the Gisborne area.
Te Arawa Māori Trust Board
The iwi for the Rotorua area. Te Arawa is one of seven Maori Tribes of New Zealand. The area traditionally covered reaches from a small village named Maketu on the eastern seaboard to Tongariro mountain in the central North Island.
Te Reo Irirangi o Te Upoko o Te IKa
Nau mai haere mai Ko te reo te poutaawhaa i whakairia e ngaa tiipuna a raatau taonga katoa- (Wharehuia Milroy, Ngai Tuuhoe)
Te Rūnanga A Iwi O Ngāpuhi
New Zealand's largest iwi, the house of Ngāpuhi stretches from Tāmaki Makaurau in the south to Cape Reinga in the north.
Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Awa
Mataatua people of the Bay of Plenty. The two urban based hapu are; Ngāti Awa ki Tamaki at Auckland and Ngāti Awa ki Poneke at Wellington. These various hapū affiliate to nineteen marae located in Whakatāne, Te Teko, Matatā, Auckland and Mōtītī Island.
Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Ruanui
Ngāti Ruanui are now represented by Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Ruanui, recognised by government as the representative body of Ngāti Ruanui, with responsibility for managing the tribe's assets for the benefit of its members. Site has comprehensive information on their cultural, social, political and economic base .
Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whare
An iwi (tribe) of the central North Island, whose customary rohe (territory) runs through the south-west Urewera and parts of the Kaingaroa region, including the area known as Te Whaiti-nui-a-Toi.
Te Rūnanga-a-Iwi o Ngāti Kahu
Official web site of Te Rūnanga-a-Iwi o Ngāti Kahu.
Ko Tongariro te maunga, ko Taupo te moana, ko Tuwharetoa te iwi, ko Te Heuheu te tangata.
Waikato Tainui
Iwi is made up of 64,500 members affiliating to 68 marae from 33 hapuu. Information about the tribe, opportunities, news, events and tribal register.
[New_Zealand Mozilla]
Last update:
April 26, 2016 at 6:00:14 UTC
All Languages