Regional Europe United Kingdom Wales Wrexham County Borough
This category tree is for websites based in, or exclusively about, the East Mid Wales county borough
of the Wrexham, named after its major town of  Wrexham.
The county borough was formed in 1996 from the "preserved" county of Clwyd which had the north coast
as boundary from Deeside at  Flint through  Rhyl to  Colwyn Bay.
However, this coastline became part of the unitary authorities of  Flintshire
Denbighshire and  Conwy County Borough.
The River Dee forms the east boundary with England, from the West Cheshire villages of Aldford to Shocklach.
The north east part of Wrexham, north of the A534 is represented by the locality of  Holt.
South of the A534 the villages of Ridlewood and Bowling Bank have been dominated by the
Wrexham Industrial Estate, but the area further south are represented by the Worthenbury locality.
The village of Threapwood on the West Cheshire border is considered to be in England,
represented by the  Malpas category. whereas Tallarn Green is in Wrexham.
Wrexham then has is east boundary with Shropshire at  Whitchurch.
The most south east area of Wrexham, north of  Wem and  Ellesmere is represented by the
locality  Bronington, where the Llangollen Canal crosses the south east boundary at Bettisfield.
This locality may include websites for Penley, whereas those further west are included in  Overton-on-Dee.
West of Overton, the boundary rejoins the River Dee, then follows a tributary, the River Ceiriog,
flowing from the south of  Chirk, where the Llangollen Canal has an aqueduct over the Ceiriog.
South of Chirk Castle, the boundary heads south west, and extends to enclose the Ceiriog Valley,
reaching 784 metres above sea level at Cadair Bronwen.
The most south west village is Llanarmon (Dyffryn Ceiriog), which is at the end the B4500,
which climbs the valley on the north bank of the Ceiriog, through the villages
of Tregeiriog (Foel Rhiwlas), Pandy, Dolywern and Pontfadog, from Chirk,
and this area is represented by the  Glyn Ceiriog locality.
North of Chirk, the west boundary with Denbighshire is represented by the categories for
  RuabonRhosllanerchrugogBrymbo, west of Wrexham.
The most north west boundary with Flintshire north of Brymbo, encloses Llay, Burton Gree and Rossett,
north of Wrexham, and these localities are currently represented by the locality  Gresford.

Subcategories 18

Related categories 1

WCBC WebWalks: Overton Walks
Route through Overton, over the River Dee via Knolton Bryn and Llan-y-Cefn Woods. Downloads of directions and map, photo gallery, related links from Wrexham council.

Other languages 1

[Smiley Mozilla]
Last update:
October 19, 2016 at 12:21:30 UTC
All Languages