Raptors are meat-eating birds, also called birds of prey, that have keen eyesight, 8 sharp talons, and a hooked beak. There are more than 450 kinds of raptors. About 300, like falcons, are active during the day (diurnal) and over 150, such as owls, hunt at night (nocturnal). Most raptors live in tall trees and other high places. Some birds have learned to live with humans and have their nests on tall buildings in big cities.

Subcategories 7

eNature: Hawkwatch
[ Kids/Teens/Mature Teens ] Lists places, in the United States, where raptors can be seen on their migration flights. Tells what birds can be seen and when, by location.
Honey Buzzard
[ Teens/Mature Teens ] Learn where it lives, when to see it in the UK, why it is endangered and what is being done to help. Hear an audio of its call from the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds.
Introduction to Raptors
[ Teens/Mature Teens ] Tells about hawks, eagles, falcons, owls, secretary bird, osprey, and vultures. Includes information on each group, mythology and folklore, pictures, and details about members of these families.
[Bird Mozilla]
Last update:
November 27, 2016 at 4:22:26 UTC
School Time
Sports and Hobbies
Teen Life
Your Family
All Languages
People and Society